The Thoughts and Adventures of Sarah Harris

theology, philosophy, health, cooking, and more

A New Adventure

Plane tickets are purchased.

Here I come Argentina.

For nine months.

Wow.

God is good.

Here begins the story of a young girl – age ten – who wants to be a missionary.  At age ten, missionary = a crazy adult person who goes to Africa, in the middle of nowhere, to tribes of cannibals, where the missionary is captured and nearly eaten alive, and yet still somehow tells the people about Jesus.

And that’s what I wanted to be – at age 10.

Needless to say, my definition of a missionary has drastically changed since then. And I, also, have changed. The process of my pursuit in becoming a missionary has been an interesting one. By the time high school came around I came to realize that a missionary is someone who tells people about Jesus anywhere at anytime – whether that be work or school or church or to an African tribe and whether that be now or then. Another thing I realized is that all Christians are called by Christ to be missionaries of some sort at all times.

My head understood these things but it wasn’t until college that my life slowly began to reflect what my head knew so well.

And I am still learning this…

So now, I am going to Argentina to minister to children and teens who may not know Christ.

My greatest fear is that I will not be a good ambassador for Christ – that I will not represent Him well. I know that I can’t represent him perfectly because I am not yet made perfect – but I do pray God would do a work in me and use me to glorify Him while I am working in this place and with these people where He is already using others to minister and where He is already working in the hearts of the lost. I thank God that a person’s salvation is not up to me, but up to God – since He is the only one who can represent Himself perfectly. But on that same note:

2 Corinthians 5:17-21

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 18 All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; 19 that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. 20 Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. 21 For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

I do pray that as a new creature – having been entrusted with the message of reconciliation – God will make an appeal through me to these people in Argentina and to the people in my life even now.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A New Adventure

  1. So exciting! When do you leave?!

  2. ladydeathmaggot on said:

    September 3rd

Leave a Reply

