The Thoughts and Adventures of Sarah Harris

theology, philosophy, health, cooking, and more

Chalkboard Guestbook for a Rustic Wedding

Rather than having a guest book where the guests sign their name and say some generic “congrats” or “best wishes” I thought it would be more fun to have something a little more personal, creative, and memorable at my wedding.

There are lots of interesting alternative guest book ideas out there now. From the thumbprint tree to signing a puzzle piece. But even amongst all those, nothing was as personal as I wanted it to be. I didn’t want to be bored looking through the names or thumbprints of my wedding guests after it was over. While the ideas were cute, and resulted in a beautiful result, they just were not as personal as I wanted them to be.

In my searching, I found this at Martha Stewart – a guest book for each table, each with a different question.

I took this idea and ran with it, making my own guestbook that would fit within my rustic themed wedding. Instead of just having one question per book, I used 5 different questions – some the same at each table and some different. And the nice part is that they doubled as table numbers!

Here are all the questions I used:

  1. What should we do during our first year of marriage?
  2. What’s your favorite love story?
  3. What hobbies should we take up as a couple?
  4. What were you really thinking during our wedding vows?
  5. What should we name our kids?
  6. What’s your funniest memory of us?
  7. Where do you see us in 25 years?
  8. What’s the most romantic place we should visit?
  9. What is the best marriage advice you can pass on to us?
  10. What should we do on date nights?

Wedding Table Chalkboard Guest Books

Items needed:

Instructions:

  • Punch 2 holes along the side of the chipboard using an ice pick. Make sure the holes line up with the corresponding chip board.
  • Take chipboard outside and lay out on newspaper. Spray with chalkboard paint according to directions on can.
  • Cut brown paper with paper cutter or scissors to be 6×6 in size.
  • Hole punch 2 holes along side, making sure they correspond with chipboard holes. I used about 6 pieces of paper per guest book.
  • Once the chipboard is dry, push twine through the holes of the back piece of chipboard, run paper through the twine and glue each piece down. Once everything is glued, run the twine through the front piece of chipboard. This is rather difficult to do,  I pushed the twine through with a pen. Measure approximately how much twine you will be need to tie a bow and cut. Run the other end of twine through the other hole of the chipboard and paper, tying a bow in the front.
  • Take a piece of chalk and run it sideways along chalkboard, then erase using a paper towel. You can now write the numbers on the front.
  • Cut out the question(s) and glue them to the inside of the chipboard. It’s now ready to use.

After the wedding was all said and done, I’m really glad I did it this way. The comments and pictures from the guests were both personal and hilarious. Here are a few we received:

Q: What should we do during our first year of marriage?

  • Save as much as you can and invest it in index funds
  • Learn a new language together

Q: What’s your favorite love story?

  • Boaz and Ruth
  • Odysseus and Penelope
  • My favorite love story is (obviously) the one with the orcs. Beren’s bride – price of a simaril and a quest for the most beautiful maiden ever. Beat that.
  • The best dove story ever is Noah and the ark.

Q: What hobbies should we take up as a couple?

  • Cooking…so Josh doesn’t eat just easy mac and ramen noodles.
  • Computer programing
  • Frodo and Sam are the hobbits you should take up as a couple. Make sure to feed them six times a day, and don’t plan on any adventures (they’ll happen on their own).

Q: What were you really thinking during our wedding vows?

  • You’re going to get sunburned if this doesn’t end soon
  • There’s a fly on Josh’s face
  • If every protestant was like Dr. Key [our officiant] I would never had become orthodox.
  • Well, I was thinking “Geez…this is the best wedding sermon I’ve ever heard!”
  • RUN Josh!!!! RUNNN!!!!
  • I was really listening to your ceremony, not just your vows. I was thinking of several friends who are struggling in their marriage right now and how true the words were that were being spoken. I wished our friends could be hearing the ceremony as a reminder and encouragement.
  • I was trying to get Tara’s attention and make faces at her. Unfortunately she never looked my way to get her to laugh. I tried – oh well.
  • I was thinking how hard it is to keep true to them but worth the work. Never stop working on loving, forgiving, and choosing to let go!

Q: What should we name our kids?

  • Walker and Texas Ranger
  • You should name your kids “Jules” and “Verne”
  • Bobby Joe, Cleator, Elvis
  • Hans and Finn

Q: What is the best marriage advice you can pass on to us?

  • This is to you Josh. #1 – Happy wife, happy life. #2 – Either you can be happy or you can be right. Sorry Sarah, these don’t apply to you. 🙂
  • If Dan were here today he would have said “Josh, make sure you always have the last word” and that would be “Yes dear.”
  • Every year on your anniversary, take some time to listen to your ceremony. It will always be an encouragement and reminder.

After the wedding, I cut each paper out of the books and I’ll likely put them in a scrapbook or photo album, that I can look through again and again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

